Vitamins Arrived! Charting Achievement Unlocked!

24 Jan

Guys, guys, guys, guys, looooooookiiiiiitt!

photo (7)

 

Our vitamins arrived!  They make me very very queasy, but if I’ll have a regular period and/or a baby, I can handle it.  The funny thing is, about 8 months ago, I tested out a TON of prenatal vitamins to find some that wouldn’t make me vomit.  I experimented with times of day and with and without meals using probably about 5 or 6 different brands.  Which is a very expensive way to find a good vitamin.  I finally settled on Rainbow Light Prenatal Petite.  I have to take them with a snack around 11am.

And no, it’s not crazy that I was looking for vitamins before we had even started trying.  Doctors now recommend taking prenatals 6-12 months BEFORE you start trying.  Trying to get your folic acid stored up is apparently good not just for baby, but for helping mama avoid morning sickness as well.

I will take the Fertility Blend in lieu of the prenatals until I suspect that I’m pregnant.  All the lovely ingredients that help you get pregnant, are also very harmful to a new fetus.  Then again, so is Clomid, the medication fertility experts give women who are trying.  I’m not sure if I should stop taking them during the two week wait, or if it’s okay because the zygote isn’t attached in that time or not.  The instructions say “if you are or suspect you are pregnant stop taking Fertility Blend immediately.”  But you don’t suspect you are until your period is “late.” Right?

Now I have an all new routine I do everyday in order to chart.  When I realize I’m a little awake somewhere around 630-7, I feel around for the basal thermometer, and scribble my temperature down on a pocket calendar until a time when I can enter it down on the free charting software I found at fertilityfriend.com.  Your Basal Body Temperature (or BBT on mom forums) is your waking temperature in the morning.  This is taken before you move at all.  Your body temperature drops while you are asleep, except for when you enter the luteal phase of your cycle (the days right after you ovulate until you have your period) when it surges.  Doing this for a few months should give you a better idea of when you ovulate.

The second thing I do in the morning is pee.  This is only important if I’m missing my period.  The best time to take your pregnancy tests is first thing in the morning.  Morning urine has the highest concentration of human chorionic gonadotropin (hCG), which is what the tests are looking for.  Now, if I’m in any other part of my cycle, I don’t worry about peeing on sticks (yet).  Instead, I get to root around in there and feel for my cervix.  The cervix gets low near menstruation and gets higher during ovulation.  Normally, the cervix feels hard like a nose, except during ovulation when it’s softer and feels more like lips.  It also opens up a little during ovulation, and again during menstruation.  After checking these three things, I then check the cervical mucus (CM or CF).  During ovulation, CM should look and feel like raw egg yolks and should stretch an inch or two between your fingers.  This type of fluid is like an inter-vaginal highway for sperm to reach the fallopian tube from outside the cervix.  BUT, not all women have this lovely stuff… hence there is the special (and extremely overpriced) sperm-safe lubricant Pre Seed.

My morning has only been 3 minutes long so far, but I already have 90% of my charting information ready to be plugged into the software.  Cervical mucus and basal body temperature are the primary signs that indicate ovulation, but you can also use other secondary things to guess your ovulation date.  One of the more indicators is to test for the Luteinizing Hormone (LH).  When you ovulate, your brain releases LH which then triggers estrogen, that then triggers follicle-stimulating hormone (FSH).  All these hormones are basically indicating “mature egg on deck!” Your “LH surge” is the first sign that ovulation is occurring or about to occur.  You test for LH using ovulation predictor kits or OPKs.  These you dip in your pee once in the afternoon and once at night.

Who would have thought that bodily fluids could be so informative?

Other things can also be recorded from mood to energy levels (after ovulating, your body produces progesterone which makes you really really tired.  If you become pregnant, your progesterone level will remain high, keeping that BBT reading high as well, and your fatigue level can remain high until the second trimester.)  The website I’m using allows you to record things like increased sex drive, irritability, headache, etc, which I’m recording for the PMDD.  I have a new doctor, so having these charts available with recorded symptoms could be useful; especially if I have to prove to my health insurance that I’m not uninsurable, I just have hormonal imbalances because of  this very treatable and very inexpensive-to-treat condition.

At the end of the day, I record all these observations on the website, and it puts it all into a neat little graph.  Some women choose to share this on the site with other wannabe mamas (though it discretely removes the recorded intercourse section). It is nice to see that a majority of women don’t fall into a 28-day cycle.  In their online courses, the website claims that only 30% of women have the 28-day cycle, and can just knowingly have sex 14 days before their periods. The rest of us ladies need to chart.

I do like learning about my body a little more, and I feel like I SHOULD have known this stuff before.  It might have made life a little bit easier.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

