March Madness?

14 Mar

I visited my grandfather yesterday, and they were really hoping I had news for them.  I didn’t, but this month I wasn’t too sad about it.

The Hubs and I have been battling colds, sore throats, and the deadly flu since I’ve been off the pill.  I nearly cried when my iPhone announced two weeks ago that I was entering my fertile window and my throat was so sore that I couldn’t talk.  At least, until I had an epiphany.

What was this revelation?  It’s March, and that would mean a December baby.  The Hubs is a December baby, and it royally sucked for him.  Granted, as an adult, he can get into any restaurant in Boston for his birthday without a reservation.  As a kid, though, no friends around to celebrate with, no in-school recognition, and presents doubled up as both Xmas and birthday.  Not that we want to raise a materialistic child, and I’ve planned enough toddler birthday parties to know how much stress that is, but I still don’t want to rock the December baby.  Especially since I hate Christmas with a passion.  As soon as my birthday around Thanksgiving comes, I start to get anxiety that doesn’t end until the new year.  The last thing I want is to be 38 weeks pregnant, or with a newborn and still be expected to shop, travel, and pretend to be happy that it’s Christmas.

It might be fine to take the next couple months off of the rigorous trying and move into “not preventing.”  A birthday that has weather warm enough that an outdoor party is a real possibility is a beautiful thing.  Removing the scheduled baby-making-sex might relax us a little too!

 

Then again, it is day 31 of my cycle and I have yet to see Aunt Flo…

2 Responses to “March Madness?”

  1. tristakellman March 14, 2013 at 2:42 pm #

    I’m a December baby too, and as a kid it really did kind of suck. I wasn’t brought up in a materialistic way either, but being sandwiched between 2 major Holidays was always a drag. Besides maybe once you stop trying it’ll happen for you guys 🙂

Leave a Reply

