The Turnaround

17 May

I had taken a break from blogging because I felt I was droning on and on.  I needed to take a break from the TTC black hole that was consuming my life.

ImageCan you see the black hole in her eyes?

I started concentrating on the bonding project, but if the bunnies fought, it felt like a personal insult.  Sometimes I would skip dates because I just couldn’t deal with the potential brawl.

Image

I started watching TV and doing nothing all day.  It took a long time to figure out that I was dealing with depression again.  I had come off my Prozac while dealing with cycles without the hormones I had depended on for the last decade. Not my brightest move.

I found myself an OB/GYN who scolded me for coming off the SSRI and gave me a prescription.  I also did something drastic to improve my mood right away.

I joined a martial arts class.

Taking care of my body, pushing myself to do things that I didn’t think I could do, and just getting stronger have helped me so much.  The other day I felt a rush that I couldn’t explain… it was joy.  Just pure joy.  There is a lot of wisdom in the mantra “healthy body, healthy mind.”  You don’t get joy from Prozac.

Image

Doesn’t he look happy?

Leave a Reply

